Soulful Sounds: Exploring Luther Vandross' Iconic Album Never Too Much

May 07, 2024By Neil Greaves
Neil Greaves

Luther Vandross is undoubtedly one of the most talented and influential R&B artists of all time. His smooth and soulful voice has captivated audiences for decades, and his music continues to resonate with listeners today. One of his most iconic albums, Never Too Much, released in 1981, remains a timeless masterpiece.

The Birth of a Classic

Never Too Much marked Vandross' debut as a solo artist, after years of working behind the scenes as a songwriter and backup singer for renowned artists such as David Bowie and Diana Ross. The album was an instant hit, reaching the top of the R&B charts and establishing Vandross as a force to be reckoned with in the music industry.

The title track, "Never Too Much," is an infectious and upbeat anthem that showcases Vandross' incredible vocal range and his ability to infuse emotion into every note. The song became an instant classic and remains one of Vandross' most beloved hits. Its irresistible groove and heartfelt lyrics make it impossible not to sing along.

A Journey of Love and Emotion

Never Too Much is a journey through love and emotion, with Vandross' velvet-smooth voice guiding us every step of the way. The album is a perfect blend of soul, funk, and R&B, with each track telling a unique story.

One standout track is "Don't You Know That?," a heartfelt ballad that showcases Vandross' vulnerability and his ability to convey deep emotions through his voice. The song is a testament to his incredible talent as both a singer and a songwriter.

soulful music

A Timeless Legacy

Decades after its release, Never Too Much continues to inspire and influence artists across genres. Vandross' smooth and soulful sound has left an indelible mark on the music industry, and his legacy lives on through his timeless music.

The album's impact can be felt in the work of contemporary artists such as John Legend and Bruno Mars, who have cited Vandross as a major influence. His ability to connect with listeners on a deep emotional level is a testament to his artistry and the lasting power of his music.

An Enduring Favorite

Never Too Much remains a favorite among fans and critics alike. Its timeless sound and heartfelt lyrics continue to resonate with listeners of all ages. Whether you're a longtime fan or discovering Vandross' music for the first time, this album is a must-listen.

So, sit back, relax, and let Luther Vandross' soulful sounds transport you to a world of love, emotion, and pure musical bliss. Experience the magic of Never Too Much and discover why Luther Vandross is truly an icon in the world of R&B.

In Conclusion

Luther Vandross' album Never Too Much is a timeless masterpiece that showcases his incredible talent and artistry. From the infectious title track to heartfelt ballads, the album takes listeners on a journey of love and emotion. Vandross' smooth and soulful voice continues to inspire and influence artists across generations, leaving a lasting legacy in the music industry. Whether you're a longtime fan or new to his music, Never Too Much is a must-listen that will captivate your soul and leave you wanting more.

Never Too Much”: The title track opens the album with infectious energy. Vandross’ soulful vocals glide over a funky bassline, celebrating love without reservation. It’s a feel-good anthem that remains a dance floor favorite to this day.

Sugar and Spice (I Found Me a Girl)”: A mid-tempo groove, this track showcases Vandross’ vocal prowess. The lyrics express the joy of finding true love, backed by lush instrumentation and harmonies.

Don’t You Know That?”: A smooth ballad, Vandross delivers vulnerability and longing. The song’s emotional depth resonates, making it a standout on the album.

I’ve Been Working”: A funky, upbeat tune, Vandross sings about the grind of life and love. The horn section adds a lively touch, and the rhythm keeps listeners moving.

She’s a Super Lady”: Vandross pays homage to strong women in this empowering track. His silky voice glides effortlessly, celebrating femininity and resilience.

You Stopped Loving Me”: A poignant ballad, Vandross reflects on lost love. The piano-driven arrangement and heartfelt lyrics make it a soulful gem.

A House Is Not a Home”: Originally written by Burt Bacharach and Hal David, Vandross reimagines this classic. His rendition is hauntingly beautiful, capturing the ache of loneliness.

Soulful”: An instrumental interlude, “Soulful” lets the musicians shine. The jazzy vibes and tight rhythm section demonstrate Vandross’ musical vision.

Bad Boy/Having a Party”: A medley of two songs, this track transitions from a playful intro to a lively party groove. Vandross’ vocal runs are impressive, and the festive atmosphere is contagious.

Promise Me”: Closing the album, Vandross delivers a heartfelt promise of love. The piano-driven arrangement and his emotive vocals leave a lasting impression.

Never Too Much” received critical acclaim upon its release. AllMusic editor Craig Lytle praised it as “one outstanding song after another” and highlighted Vandross’ ability to create both up-tempo hits and intimate ballads1. The album’s impact on soul music history is undeniable. It marked a shift toward sophisticated, polished R&B, influencing countless artists who followed.

With “Never Too Much,” Luther Vandross seized the moment, redefining R&B and leaving an enduring legacy. His blend of passion, vocal mastery, and timeless melodies continues to resonate with listeners, making this album an essential part of soul music history

See, I'm not the type of writer that has 400 songs in a suitcase someplace on the shelf. I'm sort of a rise-to-the-occasion-type of writer, so when I know I'm going to record, I get in the mood to write.

Luther Vandross

Luther Vandross Never Too Much album credits

- Luther Vandross:
    - Lead vocals
    - Vocal arrangements
    - Rhythm arrangements (tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7)
    - Backing vocals (tracks 1, 3-6)
    - Song arrangements (track 7)
- Nat Adderley, Jr.:
    - Keyboards (tracks 1–7)
    - Rhythm arrangements (tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 6)
    - Backing vocals (tracks 4, 5)
- Ed Walsh:
    - Synthesizers (tracks 2, 4)
- Georg Wadenius:
    - Guitar (tracks 1, 2, 3, 7)
- Steve Love:
    - Guitar (tracks 3–6)
- Marcus Miller:
    - Bass (tracks 1–7)
- Anthony Jackson:
    - Bass (track 7)
- Buddy Williams:
    - Drums (tracks 1–7)
- Errol "Crusher" Bennett:
    - Percussion (tracks 1, 4, 5, 7)
    - Congas (track 4)
- Bashiri Johnson:
    - Congas (tracks 1, 2)
    - Percussion (tracks 2, 5)
- Billy King:
    - Congas (tracks 3, 5, 6)
- Paul Riser:
    - Horn arrangements (tracks 2, 5)
    - String arrangements (tracks 2, 3, 5)
- Gary King:
    - Arrangements (track 4)
- Leon Pendarvis:
    - String arrangements (tracks 6, 7)
    - Horn arrangements (track 7)

Always connected